## **Opening of Beijing Branch in PRC**

TOKYO, February 18, 2008 --- Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (SMBC, President: Masayuki Oku) announced today that Beijing Branch, Beijing City, the People's Republic of China (PRC), will commence business on February 25, 2008, as part of its efforts to further strengthen its office network in mainland China.

Beijing, the capital of PRC, has been undergoing remarkable economic development for the Olympic Games this year. There are many Japanese and other foreign companies operating in Beijing, and SMBC, whose presence has been a representative office, decided to newly establish Beijing Branch to further strengthening its services.

For SMBC, China is one of its most important markets in the world. Aiming to further enhance and speed up its services in the country, it established "China Division" as one of its overseas divisions in December 2006, and opened Tianjin Binhai Sub-Branch in March 2007 and Suzhou Industrial Park Sub-Branch in April 2007. SMBC's goal is to provide comprehensive financial services to its customers in China, and this full network of eleven offices in Mainland China is a key initiative for achieving this goal. (Beijing Representative Office hereafter will be closed.)

## **Profile of Beijing Branch**

Registered Name	Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation,
	Beijing Branch
Address	16F, North Tower, Beijing Kerry Centre, No.1, Guanghua Road,
	Chaoyang District, Beijing, PRC
Service(*)	Foreign currency deposit, Foreign currency loan, Trade finance, Domestic
	remittance (Foreign currency), Overseas remittance, Bond, Foreign
	exchange(excluding cash exchange)
General Manager	Tadatoshi Ota, Mr.
TEL&FAX	TEL:86-(10) 5920-4500 FAX:86-(10) 5915-1080

<sup>(\*)</sup> Some services may be restricted due to supervisory regulations. Please inquire the person in charge of Beijing Branch for details.

## SMBC's office network in mainland China

Branch: Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjin, Suzhou, Hangzhou and Guangzhou

Sub-Branch: Suzhou Industrial Park and Tianjin Binhai

Representative Office: Shenyang, Dalian and Chongqing

Total: Eleven offices